line decor


The Motor Vehicles Department in the State was established in the year 1963 on Nagaland attaining Statehood pursuant to section 133-A of the M. V. Act, 1933(section 213 of the M. V. Act, 1988) .The power of the functions of the Department are regulated under the provision of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988(then M. V. Act, 1933), the Central Motor Vehicles Rules 1989, the Nagaland Motor vehicles Act, 1967 and the Motor vehicles Taxation Rules 1972. The main functions and duties of the department are:

(i) Registration and Licensing of Motor Vehicles,

(ii) Revenue collection on account of Road tax,

(iii) Passenger and Goods Tax,

(iv) Issue of Driving Licenses,

(v) Issue of Conductors Licenses,

(vi) Grant and Renewal of Permits,

(vii) Motor Vehicles pollution control,

(viii) Awareness of Road safety.

The Transport Commissioner is the head of Department. He is assisted by an Additional Transport Commissioner and a deputy Transport Commissioner at the Directorate. To deal in matters regarding Motor Vehicles statistics, a Statistical Officer with one Inspector and a field Assistant are on attachment from the Directorate of Economics and Statistics Department. The Engineering wing of the N.S.T. department under an Assistant Engineer has been delegated charge to look after the Civil Works of the Department in addition to their own duty.

The Regional Transport Officer at Kohima and District Transport Officers at Mokokchung, Mon, Tuensang, wokha and Zunheboto are the six Registering Offices in the State District Transport Officer will be soon stationed at Dimapur and Phek as well.

To adjudicate motor accident claims cases, a Motor Accident Claims Tribunal has been constituted and is located at Dimapur which cover the whole State . At present Mr. C.Sosang Jamir Rtd. D.C (Judicial) is appointed as a member of MACT.



Press Release

Citizens Charter